What Lies Beneath

Guy


You know what?
I look into your eyes,
Shining shards of glass –
Windows to something I can’t see,
And I wonder.

To see my reflection is a strange thing,
Staring back at me hopelessly distorted.
I wonder what you see. Do you see
The unfaltering smile that I carry,
Only in your presence?

Sometimes I dare think you mirror me,
For when I waved you did
But no one else does.
I’d like to think your smile,
Only one other friend can conjure.

And then there’s one problem
I cannot figure out.
I love you dearly,
The pair of you.
But must you bewilder me so?

Looking at you now,
With those piercing chocolate shards,
I wonder if perhaps the other
Is more deeply-rooted
In that which they share with you.

If you’d only tell me what you see,
Perhaps things could move more easily.
But truthfully, it is the other
With whom I tread carefully,
So I don’t rip his roots from beneath him.

Time soon comes to pass:
What will we do with that we have left?

©DeclarableSerene

Photo Credit: vanessa_hutd / CC BY-SA 4.0

11 thoughts on “What Lies Beneath

  1. anitalubesh says:

    Thought that was an eloquent write I could not reconcile the of use of shards of glass even though it served to aid the mention of a distortion later. I can’t help veering and taking it as more literally, which gives me shivers lol. I hope this is seen as helpful criticism. Lovely though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DeclarableSerene says:

      Of course, your criticism is constructive and I appreciate your comments. Everything is open to interpretation, so every person’s view is valid and if you see the poem as more literal then that’s fine – I’m sorry it creeped you out though! Haha. Thank you for your comments 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

